Gluten Free Apple Bun

Posted on 22 April 2009 by

15


The other night James told me that he might have a confession to make. I asked him, “Why the uncertainty – surely you do or you don’t!” He said that it depended on whether I had plans for the mashed potato in the fridge. He’d liked the look of it, and warmed it up for his lunch with mushrooms and melted cheese. Luckily mashed potatoes are quick to make, and I was able to carry out my plan in spite of the unscheduled gobbling of my mash.

The recipe I wanted to try was a new gluten free bread, which I hoped would be made moister by the inclusion of mashed potato in the batter. This gluten free apple bun was derived from a book by Lola Workman called Bread, Buns and Breakfasts: High Fibre Gluten Free Wheat Free Cookery. Now if you thought the name of the book was a mouthful, you should see the recipes. They have heaps of ingredients, and that’s why I’ve rarely bothered with them.

p4180018

The many ingredients do seem to have a purpose though. This recipe was worth the trouble. I think it was moister and more bread-like in texture than either the gluten free rolls or the hot cross buns that I’ve posted about before. The report from James is that real bread is better, but if you have to stick to a gluten free diet this isn’t a bad alternative.

p4180011

The bun is flavoured with apples, sultanas and spices. Sadly my Bilpin apples were well and truly eaten by the time I made this, but the ones at the greengrocer are pretty good at the moment too. I iced the apple ring pink, so that it would seem like a tea cake or a finger bun. I’ll have to get some eclair trays so that I can make finger buns next time. In keeping with the bun theme I wanted to decorate the icing, but I couldn’t decide between coconut and almonds on top. In the end I used a bit of both.

p4180014

The apple pieces and sultanas are real highlights in this recipe and, as always, I’m tempted to add more fruit next time. I also think it might be easier to mix the fruit into the batter rather than make layers. As well as the moist fruit, the icing is a nice sweet touch. Just don’t overdo it or it will be overpowering. The icing is particularly valuable after a few days when the bread is drying out. This recipe is moister than most gluten free breads, but like the others it goes stale quickly. The keeping time for this recipe is only a couple of days, so eat up!

I’m submitting this post to Yeastspotting.

p4180029

Ingredients
200 mL water
1 tsp salt
2 tabs caster sugar
1 tab gelatine
60 g mashed potato
1 tab dried yeast
75 g besan flour
40 g rice flour
75 g potato starch
60 g arrowroot (tapioca starch)
1 tsp ground ginger
1 tsp nutmeg
1 tsp cinnamon
2 eggs
1 cup sultanas
1 apple, chopped

Icing
1 cup gluten free icing mixture
2 tsp butter (melted)
milk
food colouring
almonds or coconut to decorate

Method
Place cold water in a glass bowl with salt, sugar and gelatine. Stand for 1 min to soften.
Heat in microwave for 1 min.
In the meantime grease a ring pan.

Whisk the mashed potato into the warm liquid.
Stir in the yeast and stand for 3 minutes.
Add flours and spices.
Lightly whisk the eggs with a fork and then add them.
Combine everything thoroughly.
The mix should resemble a cake batter. At this stage mine was a little runny, so I added a bit more rice flour.

Preheat the oven to 180 degrees Celcius.
Layer the batter and fruit into the pan. You need to make three layers of batter with two layers of fruit sandwiched between them. Don’t worry too much about the layers. You could probably just mix the fruit into the batter instead.
Allow to rise for 15 min.
Bake for half an hour until it starts to turn golden.

When the bun has cooled you can ice it.
Sift the icing mixture and add the melted butter and food colouring.
Add milk until the icing is a spreadable consistency.
Spread on top of the bun, then sprinkle with nuts or coconut.

