Surprise Delight

Posted on 11 May 2010 by

8


There won’t be any photos in this post, sadly, as I have dropped my camera and broken the zoom so it’s off being fixed. That said, if we’re honest I wouldn’t actually have taken any photos of what I ate today because the tastiness was entirely unexpected. Actually, I was expecting it to be tasty- better to say I wasn’t expecting it to be so outstandingly delicious. I had begun to make my lunch in our jaffle iron, one of my pastie inventions such as Breakfast Jaffle-Pie but it was something much more simple this time- one with smoked ham and mushrooms, and the other with smoked ham and tiny tomatoes. It wasn’t worth taking photos because it wasn’t out of the ordinary, just a lazy lunch after uni. I munched my way through the mushroom one, then moved on to the tomatoes, and oh! The unspeakable bliss with that first mouthful! The tomato flavour burst into my mouth in an explosion of deliciousness! These were clearly no ordinary tiny toms.

When I began making the jaffle I knew that there was a Child of the Compost tiny tom fruiting in the backyard, but there were a couple of punnets of shop-bought ones in the fridge, so I decided to do the virtuous thing and finish those first.  I did just that. What I hadn’t realised was that my father had been picking the fruit as the ripened and popping them into an old punnet from the shop bought ones, thus what I had actually consumed were home grown tomatoes. 

In that moment I realised that shop bought tomatoes will never cut it, and I knew I had to make this post urging you that if you ever grow anything yourself, make it tomatoes. I’m sure other people have said it, I’m saying it again now.  Tiny toms in particular are stupidly easy to grow; they fruit like crazy, will grow very successfully from seed and breed fairly true, and the taste is utterly unlike anything you buy. The difference is beyond belief. As soon as I took that first mouthful of jaffle I knew the tomatoes couldn’t have come from a shop, and it was a delight to have a fairly ordinary lunch turned into a gourmet delight. Possibly you can get them with flavour like that at markets, I wouldn’t know, Arwen is the market-goer in the family :)

Seriously though, growing your own tomatoes is one of the most worthwhile food plants you will ever grow. Shop bought ones are watery with very little flavour, and all you need to grow your own taste sensation is a little soil, water and sunlight. Do it people! Then you can spring surprises on friends and family too with the utterly unexpected and sensational taste of a proper, home grown tomato.

Tagged: ,
Posted in: Food gardening