Kitchen Gadget Envy

Posted on 11 September 2011 by

6


Kitchen Gadget Envy – you know it don’t you? That feeling when you see a gadget that makes that annoying job just so much easier. ‘Why don’t I have one of those?’ you ask yourself. Suddenly it seems unthinkable to live without one.

That envious feeling swept over me as I watched my mother squeezing lemons. She made it look so effortless and, more importantly, not a single seed landed in the juice. I was amazed, but the gadget she was using wasn’t a modern invention. In fact my mother’s citrus press was a shade of orange that made me wonder if she hadn’t been hoarding it in the cupboard since the 1970s.

So off I went to the kitchenware shop, determined to become the proud owner of a citrus press. Of course when you’re in the kitchenware section there are always temptations, so I grabbed a zester – just to be sure I was fully equipped. I wasn’t going to be beaten by a citrus again.

Armed with my new gadgets I flipped through recipe books, looking for a recipe that would let me use both zester and citrus press. A little cutout from a newsletter caught my eye, ‘Orange Choc-Chip Cakes,’ it said. The recipe was proudly written by my federal MP’s wife.

These little cakes taste aromatically of orange and have chocolatey rewards scattered through them. The gluten free variation makes the cakes a little flat on top, so if gluten free isn’t a requirement for you I’d recommend using regular flour.

Of course you can bake them without treating yourself to a new citrus press in retro colours, but it might not be quite as much fun.

Orange Choc-Chip Cakes
Ingredients
125g butter
1/2 cup raw sugar
1 egg
Rind of one orange (zested finely)
1 cup gluten free plain flour (or one cup regular SR flour and omit the baking powder)
2 tsp gluten free baking powder
75mL orange juice (made with a fun citrus press)
1/2 cup chocolate chips

Method
Preheat the oven to 180 degrees Celcius.
Beat the butter and sugar until pale and creamy.
Beat in the egg and orange rind.
Add the flour and orange juice and combine thoroughly.
Add the chocolate chips and mix with a spatula.
Divide the mixture into patty pans (if you’re lucky you’ll get 2 dozen).
Bake for 10–15 minutes at 180 degrees Celcius.

