Gluten free bread rolls

Posted on 10 November 2008 by

0


I have tried to make gluten free bread in my bread machine a couple of times without success. Now for the first time I have produced something edible and I’m quite proud of myself. To make successful bread I needed not only a recipe, but also a demonstration, because gluten free bread does not form a normal dough. The instructions I’d read said the batter should resemble cake mix or mashed potato. I don’t think I would have likened these two in my mind, so these instructions left me with no idea whether my mix was on the right track. Being used to a standard wheat bread dough I tended to err on the dry side and my first loaf was like a crumbly brick. Soon after I gave up and booked myself in for a bread making course at the Coeliac Society of NSW.

The Coeliac Society is a great resource for diagnosed coeliacs and a good way to meet people who not only share your special dietary requirements, but also care how their food tastes. Judging by some of the packaged gluten free food I’ve tasted not all coeliacs are discerning eaters. Having a recommendation for a brand is always a good start.

The bread making course was run by a kind volunteer who showed us her methods from start to finish and gave us lots of taste tests. It was a heap of fun and I learnt lots of clever tricks. The mix does indeed resemble a cake. It even includes eggs in the hope of providing protein to the flours lacking that elastic and immunogenic protein, gluten.

ingredients
Mixing many kinds of flour gives the best results.

wet
First you combine the wet ingredients.

dry
Then add the dry ones on top, yeast last.

knead1
You have to start the bread machine right away, unlike wheat bread this mix contains eggs, so it’s not safe to leave it in the bread machine for a delayed start.

assist
In case the mixing hasn’t worked well you should scrape down the sides with a spatula.

batter
The dough is just like a cake mix in consistency.

rise
I cooked on the dough cycle so that I could make rolls. I thought this was safer if the texture was funny, since they don’t have to stand up to slicing.

flavour
I added some flavour to some of the rolls (cheese, mixed herbs, sweet chilli sauce).

bake
I let them rise for about half an hour before I baked them for 20 minutes.

rolls
Here they are, my finished product.

buttered
Very nice warm and buttered out of the oven. The next day, when halved for a sandwich, they are a bit crumbly.

Recipe
Wet ingredients:
1/3 cup vegetable oil
1 tsp white vinegar
3 eggs
480-500 mL water (err on the low side, you can always add more)

Dry ingredients:
1 1/2 cups brown rice flour
1/2 cup besan flour (or other legume flour)
1 cup arrowroot (or tapioca starch)
1 cup white rice flour
1 tab xanthan gum (or other gum as a gluten substitute)
1/4 cup LSA (linseed, sunflower and almond meal, this makes it a bit grainy, you could also use seeds)
2 tsp dry yeast

Add wet ingredients to pan, then dry ingredients in order. Put the pan into the machine and start it up. After a couple of minutes check that it has mixed properly and is the right consistency. You can add flour or water one talbespoon at a time to adjust it.

If you plan to make rolls then use the dough cycle on your bread machine. When it’s finished spoon into large muffin pans. I made a dozen rolls from my mix. Allow to rise 25 min with the muffin pan sitting above a pan of hot water from the kettle. Then bake 200 degrees celsius for 15-20 min.

If you want to make a loaf in the bread machine you will need a different cycle. Some machines have a gluten free setting. Otherwise it is reported to be best if you choose a long second knead and light crust.

