Lentil and fetta salad

A barbeque at the beach is a great way to celebrate the end of the year. If everyone brings a plate you can have quite a diverse lunch. I had promised to make a salad, but I wanted it to be substantial since I might have trouble finding gluten free things to eat. Looking for inspiration I turned to Not Quite Nigella. Her lentil and chorizo salad sounded good, tasty and filling. Chorizo was out though if I was going to please the vegetarians. I decided on fetta as a vegetarian alternative and added some vegetables for a bit of colour. Spinach is compulsory for me at the moment since it’s growing so well in the garden.

lentilfetta

Do you like my rice cake plate? Our forgetfulness with paper plates was a bonus for the environment, but I wish I’d had a spoon to eat the salad. Here’s the recipe for you.

Ingredients
2 tins of brown lentils
1 onion
1 red capsicum
2 flat mushrooms
3 leaves of silverbeet
rosemary, bay and thyme leaves
olive oil for cooking
1 piece of greek fetta

Method
Heat a little olive oil and fry the onion with the herbs. When the onion is done add the mushrooms and cook until soft. Briefly cook the spinach until wilted. At this stage you can take the pan off the heat. Rinse the lentils and drain them before you add them. Add the diced capsicum raw for more colour and crunch. The cubes of fetta should be added last so that they don’t break up when you’re stirring.

I’ll leave you with some photos of the other creations at the picnic. The custard tarts were very popular.

custardtart

The cream puffs had two different fillings, both custard and chocolate.

creampuff

In all we had a very nice lunch in a pretty location. A great way to end the year.

5 thoughts on “Lentil and fetta salad

  1. Nice job on the salad. Now I’m dreaming of hotter days and visiting the sandy beaches. Too bad I’m smack bang in the middle of NSW!

    Hmmmm, I think I might have a custard tart for morning tea today.

  2. Banana and coconut are a winner together – very south east asian. your salad looks great, i might give it a go with tempeh cubes instead of fetta. great blog, how did you come across mine?

Leave a Reply

