SeaSweet

SeaSweet patisserie serves a mix of Lebanese sweets and other cakes. I really enjoyed their qashta, so I’m pleased that the chain is planning more locations in Sydney. The current patisserie is in Parramatta. SeaSweet operates cafes in Lebanon and is extending to Australia, a good sign that Middle Eastern sweets are becoming more popular here.

baclava

A long glass counter on one side of SeaSweet is filled with piles of baclava and other Lebanese treats. The other side has a selection of European style cakes. They serve icecream too. In contrast to the large area taken by the sweet treats the seating area seems small. Lots of people must take their desserts home with them. The interior is very white, with a decorative wall at the back with a glittery pattern. With my mind on sweets it reminded me of sprinkles on icing.

We sat down to look at the menu. James had already spotted a round chocolate boule on his way in, so it didn’t take long to confirm his choice. I was looking for something gluten free, so I asked the waitress what kashta (qashta) was. She explained that it is like very rich cream or soft cheese. She also said that it is pronounced something like “ashta”, explaining that “the K is kind of silent”. How exciting to find a new sweet treat! I ordered a platter of fruit and qashta.

boule

James’ boule arrived first.

cutboule

It was like a round mudcake with sultanas.

qashta

Then came my platter which, I must admit, was probably intended for two people.

qashtaclose

Yum! The qashta was topped with honey, fruit and nuts. The mango was ripe and luscious. There was other fruit too, strawberries, kiwifruit, pineapple and rockmelon. None of them could live up to the mango, but the strawberries were pretty good. The nuts were blanched almonds and crushed pistachios which went well with the honey and qashta. This was a great dessert.

I’ll leave you with some pictures of the other sweets on offer. Fruit tarts…

patisserie

…and celebration cakes. SeaSweet certainly has a broad range of treats.

cake

Ratings (out of 5 snorts)

Price 3 snorts
Taste 4 snorts
Service 4 snorts
Atmosphere 3 snorts

SeaSweet Patisserie
358 Church St
Parramatta
NSW

6 thoughts on “SeaSweet

  1. I adore Lebanese sweets although I have to say that I’ve never seen the ones that you had anywhere. They look unusual and delicious (not to mention the second one looks huge)!

  2. Got here via the Australian Food Bloggers ring, nice blog I want to follow it but I can’t work out how to subscribe, am I missing something?

    • Hi Amaya. There should be an option for RSS in the address bar of your browser. It shows up in Safari and Mozilla, I assume it works in IE aswell.

  3. I’ve had lots of Lebanese sweets, but the box of pastries we got as a pressie I can honestly say are the best I’ve ever tasted. Crisp, light, nuts and more nuts and not too syrupy…. super yum

  4. last sunday i went to famous sea sweet,i know the brand rom lebanon,with me was friends from brisbane who have never tasted lebanese sweets,i had the kneffe the absulute best by any standard,i was served by a verry cheerfull middle aged man with white hair,i thaugt he was a twins to richard geere,great service and verry informative …my mates took the backlavas,they loved it and swearred to be back soon…well done,a really great experiance.

  5. I did not know sea sweet opened in Sydney! Cool, that shows you the enterprising Phoenician merchant spirit! I am glad it was a good experience for you. I sure enjoyed reading about it!

Leave a Reply

