Easy Rhubarb in the Oven

Quality time often sounds like a piece of jargon, and an excuse for not spending large quantities of time with people you care about. On the other hand time spent doing fun things together is more enjoyable than time spent moping at home. Preparing food for your loved ones is important, but wouldn’t you like to have your cake and go for a walk too?

Rhubarb

Recipes with long cooking times let you have home cooked food, with a side serve of leisure. This rhubarb recipe is a favourite of mine at the moment because it’s timed perfectly to give you an hour’s walk. It’s also great for spring when rhubarb is available in big bunches at farmers’ markets. Each bunch weighs around 500 g, and this recipe is scaled for times when you fall for the two for one deal.

BrownSugar

A good rhubarb compote can be served with yoghurt or cream as a dessert. I’ve made muffins with it too, where the soft fruit adds moisture and flavour, but leaves very few chunks in the cake. The easiest way to eat it is spooned onto your morning porridge or cereal. An easy gluten free breakfast can be made from leftover brown rice served with milk, yoghurt and rhubarb. Quality time and slow cooked rhubarb is a great combination too.

Breaky

Ingredients
1 kg rhubarb
300 g brown sugar
zest of an orange, or 2 tsp of cinnamon (or both)

Method
Cut the rhubarb into pieces around 2 cm long.

Place it in a large baking dish and mix in the sugar and rind/spices with your hands. Then cover with foil, or the lid of the dish.

Bake at 175 degrees Celcius for 45 min to 1 hour.

15 thoughts on “Easy Rhubarb in the Oven

  1. I love rhubarb, but have never actually roasted it in the oven – I always stew them in a saucepan. Lovely recipe and pretty darned easy. I’m intrigued to taste the difference from my normal way of cooking.

  2. Yum we are so lucky to have a rhubarb season. I was surprised to hear that in NZ rhubarb is hard to come by. Makes you appreciate what we take for granted! 🙂

  3. What a nice dish to come home to after that walk. I often find myself popping something in the oven and then heading out to the garden; it’s such a pleasant way to cook – well, as long as you remember to come back in time to take the pan out of the oven!

  4. I’ve never used rhubarb in any of my cooking, but they’re readil;y available at the fruit shop. I think I should give your recipe a go, it also looks simple, so that’s also a plus.

  5. you know, I’ve never cooked rhubarb before! I’ve been meaning to for so long, but never really happened to find myself in the possession of the red stalked vegetable..or..fruit? long cooking times appeal to me too, more time to start drinking…yay!

  6. First time I saw rhubarb in the grocery store in the US, I thought it was a red variation of celery. Heh. 🙂

    I gave rhubarb a fair chance and I still have not come to like it. So tart! Maybe someday. Maybe someday.

  7. rhubarb is hard to come by in nz? people swore by it when i was there.
    but in greece, i have never come across rhubarb and sadly i never got the chance to taste it before i left the country

  8. Pingback: Halva with a rhubarb compote recipe | Souvlaki For The Soul

Leave a Reply

