Mulberry Muffins

Spring is here, and the Koel cuckoos are making enough noise to drive us crazy. Other animals are less noisy and more fun to watch. Flying foxes are feasting on bottlebrush blossom and loquats in my local streets each night. In my parents’ backyard they’re feasting on mulberries. So are we.

Mulberries

We eat mulberries on our cereal, Alloronan makes mulberry smoothies, and my mum serves them with berry liqueurs (like creme de cassis) and icecream for dessert. Recently I made mulberry muffins.

MuffinMix

These mulberry muffins are very moist and super-crumbly – you’ll need a plate. The LSA and almond meal give them a pleasant nutty flavour. Of course the big moist mulberries hidden inside are the highlight. I can see why the flying foxes are so enthusiastic about them.

MulberryMuffins

Ingredients
250g brown sugar
80ml oil
1 egg
vanilla
250 g mulberries (stems cut off)
100g almond meal
100g quinoa flour and 100g rice flour (or 200g gluten free flour blend)
50g LSA (linseed, sunflower and almond meal)
2 tsp baking powder
1tsp bicarbonate of soda

Method
Preheat the oven to 200 degrees Celcius.

Combine the wet ingredients in a bowl.

Sift in the dry ingredients and combine.

Gently stir in the mulberries.

Divide the mixture between 12 muffin cases.

Bake for approximately 20-25 minutes, or until risen and springy on top.

23 thoughts on “Mulberry Muffins

    • haha! When I asked James to take a photo of the inside of a crumbly muffin in my hands he said that he thought it wasn’t photogenic!

  1. Lovely recipe Arwen. My sister-in-law’s parents have a huge, huge, huge mulberry tree that is absolutely groaning under the weight of the fruit. I’ll have to see if I can blag some off them. Otherwise . . . I’m assuming other berries could also be used? I’m thinking strawberries would go really beautifully with the vanilla in your recipe.

  2. I’ve never had mullberries, but they look really interesting. What do they taste like?
    The muffins look great- and they look really healthy too!

  3. I’m sad to say that I’ve never even seen a mulberry in real life- But they look amazing! Do they taste like blackberries? Worst comes to worst, I think that might be a decent substitution.

  4. Great work Arwen. We know someone who has a mulberry tree, maybe I should get some and make these muffins. We now have a raspberry bush, I’m hoping we get heaps of good raspberries from it. Koel cuckoos – they are so annoying!! Especially early on the weekend.

  5. Sounds delicious – your mulberries are gigantic compared to the wild ones that grow here! How lucky you are!

    One of the best things we made last year with our berries was a simple jelly.

  6. Oh lucky you with fresh mulberries are your disposal. Fond memories of feasting on those as a kid from a local tree. A friend had a tree but the birds would always get to the fruit before we had a chance to!

  7. I’ve only had mulberries once and they weren’t the freshest. I look forward to the time when I get to taste them in their just-picked state. How fortunate of your parents to have these pretty berries in their backyard. How do you like baking with quinoa flour, Arwen? I’ve never used it, but it sounds very interesting. Bet the protein count is pretty high.

  8. I have great memories of standing underneath a mulberry tree, eating berries until our hands and mouths are stained purple. Putting these berries into a muffin is probably the more civilised way to enjoy them 🙂

  9. I love mulberries! We had one growing up and it provide so many summers filled with tree climbing, sticky fingers and purple stained mouths. I wish we still had one! These look great!

    And I hate, no HATE koels. Gosh they have an annoying song. Drove me insane when I was studying.

Leave a Reply

